Chicken Sausage with Green-Beet-Mustard Sauté

IMG_0616[1]With below freezing temperatures here in Nashville, the bagged  salad in my fridge was just not going to cut it for dinner. Instead of venturing out to the store in my Floridian snow suit (hoodie, socks and flip flops), I transformed the salad into a warm dish that would pair well with a chicken sausage I had in the freezer. Despite the somewhat random process, the final product was so simple and satisfying that I had to share it! Stay unfrozen my friends.

  • Approx. 3 c. chopped hearty greens (I used a 10 oz. bagged mix of kale, cabbage and broccoli “slaw”, but you could use any greens that would withstand a light saute.)
  • 1 jalapeno, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 c. diced beets
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2-3 tbsp. spicy mustard
  • 1 tsp. Tamari or soy sauce
  • A dash of something tangy (I used fish sauce, but Worcestershire would also work well.)
  • Olive oil
  • Pre-cooked chicken sausage

IMG_0614[1]Cook chicken sausage according to package directions – I put a frozen sausage on my Foreman grill and it was done just about the same time as the veggies. For the saute, heat oil in a pan over medium high. Add the jalapeno and greens, top with lemon juice, Tamari and dash of something tangy. Saute until veggies begin to soften. Stir in diced beets and mustard and continue to cook until ingredients are heated thoroughly.

And that’s it – certainly nothing revolutionary, but I thought the addition of mustard to the saute paired really well with the chicken sausage. Hope this helps keep you warm too!

Leave a Reply

