Turmeric-Sriracha-Honey Almonds

I love those cleverly flavored almonds available in the grocery/convenience store, but I always wish they didn’t add all the weird stuff that I don’t want to eat on a regular basis. Carolina BBQ? I want almonds that taste like that! Hybrid vegetable oil, corn maltodextrin , autolyzed yeast extract, caramel color, etc.? I’m good.

photo (2)

Anyway, I decided to get a little crazy this Tuesday night and try to recreate some of this flavorful nut fun with 3/4 of a tin of plain almonds I had sitting around. I’m sure there are improvements to be made to the process, but overall, I am pretty happy with the flavor! Note: the process is slow, but really easy. Don’t be intimidated by the timeline – just do it and plan to enjoy them later.

  • Plain almonds (I used approx. 4 oz. – try to use almonds that don’t have oil and or weird stuff added)
  • Turmeric
  • Paprika
  • Coriander
  • Garlic Powder
  • Sriracha or other hot sauce
  • Honey
  • Coconut or olive oil
  • Large resealable (Ziploc) bag

photo (5)I soaked my almonds overnight to make them easier to digest (you can read more about why I did this and find instructions here: http://foodmatters.tv/articles-1/the-benefits-of-soaking-nuts-and-seeds). After rinsing the almonds, I let them dry on a paper towel for about an hour.

Preheat oven to a very low temp (approx. 275). Combine roughly equal parts turmeric, paprika, coriander and garlic powder in the bag. I would guess for my batch I used about a tablespoon of each. Add approx. a tablespoon of sriracha and a teaspoon of honey (obviously use more if you’re making a larger batch). I ended up adding a splash of coconut oil because my mixture was a bit dry, but you could add more of the moist ingredients instead. 

photo (4)

photo (3)

Line baking sheet with foil or parchment paper and spread coated almonds evenly. Bake in low heat oven until crisp – I left mine in for about 1.5 hours, but they honestly could have gone longer. The timing might be different if you did not pre-soak your almonds; mine needed to dry out. Add salt to taste.

I was pretty happy with this technique, and I look forward to trying different flavors. The most challenging part of this experiment was not eating all of the results as soon as they were finished! 

Leave a Reply

