Sunday Banana Bread

slices1This one goes out to my mom, who likes to use the very ripe bananas lingering around on a Sunday to make a delicious loaf of banana bread. Her recipe is awesome, but I think this interpretation is not too far off – plus it’s gluten free and uses alternatives to refined sugars. My version takes the best (in my opinion :)) of good recipes I found online (see this one from Taste of Home and this one from Shape Magazine). 

Here’s where I landed with this version. I think I will continue to tweak it moving forward, but I enjoyed the final product! (See the loaf photo – I couldn’t wait to try a slice before taking the picture).Happy Sunday!

  • 3 ripe bananasingredients
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 c. coconut oil
  • 1/4 c. unsweetened apple sauce
  • 2-3 tbsp. honey (I only used two, but I think it might have been better with three)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 c. almond flour
  • 1/2 c. other gluten-free flour (I used an all-purpose mix)
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 c. chopped walnuts
  • 2 tbsp. chopped dark chocolate (optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a loaf pan with butter or coconut oil.

Mash bananas in bowl, then blend with eggs, coconut oil, apple sauce, honey and vanilla (I used a hand emulsifier to get the mixture nice and smooth, but you could use a hand mixer or even just strong biceps!). Once smooth, mix in flours and baking soda and stir until moistened. Last, add nuts and chocolate if desired. Pour mixture into greased pan and place in oven.

loaf2Cook for 45-50 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. TRY to let the loaf cool before cutting into it (although as the photo shows I was not able to do this!). Cut into slices and enjoy your Sunday!

Leave a Reply

